Psalm 6

Greetings!  This reading is Psalm 6.

Psalm 6  A psalm of David.

O Lord, do not rebuke me in your anger or discipline me in your wrath. Be merciful to me, Lord, for I am faint; O Lord, heal me, for my bones are in agony. My soul is in anguish. How long, O Lord, how long?

Turn, O Lord, and deliver me; save me because of your unfailing love. No one remembers you when he is dead. Who praises you from the grave?

I am worn out from groaning; all night long I flood my bed with weeping and drench my couch with tears. My eyes grow weak with sorrow; they fail because of all my foes.

Away from me, all you who do evil, for the Lord has heard my weeping. The Lord has heard my cry for mercy; the Lord accepts my prayer. All my enemies will be ashamed and dismayed; they will turn back in sudden disgrace.

  • Justice = getting what you deserve (punishment)
  • Mercy = not getting what you deserve (avoiding punishment)
  • Grace = getting what you don’t deserve (getting a fabulous gift . . . like spending eternity with the one true God, who loved you enough to die for you.)  
  • God is perfectly just, so He demands punishment for sin.  Yet He is perfectly merciful, so He came to earth and took the punishment for us, if only we will accept his free gift of grace.  As humans, we often want justice for others and mercy and grace for ourselves.     

    This is called a “penitential” psalm, where the writer realizes his problem, confesses his sin and recommits himself to God.  Feel the passion of David as he pours out his heart to God in true repentance. 

    Reflect on what stood out to you in this reading and share your comments and questions if you like.

    The next reading is an overview of Proverbs.

    2 Responses

    1. Thank God for His mercy! You’ve got some good stuff here! I haven’t found many blogs like this. Keep it up. Check out my blog at http://www.cswb.blogspot.com

    2. The Hebrew for the phrase “unfailing love” denotes befriending. The appeal to God’s “(unfailing) love, kindness, mercy” is frequent in the Old Testament since it summarizes all that the Lord convenanted to show to Israel (Deuteronomy 7:9.12) as well as to David and his dynasty (Psalm 89:24, 28, 33; 2 Samuel 7:15; Isaiah 55:3).

    Leave a Reply

