Galatians overview

Greetings!  Today we start a study of Galatians.  It is a fairly short book (only 6 chapters).  I encourage you to read it through quickly or at least skim it, then go back through chapter by chapter in more depth.

Who wrote this and when was it written?  The Apostle Paul wrote this in roughly A.D. 49. 

 Who was it written to?  The churches in southern Galatia (Paul started them on his first missionary journey) and to all Christians.

Why was it written?  To refute false teachers who claimed that you must follow Jewish customs to be saved, and to encourage people to live in faith and freedom in Christ.

I love Galatians.  It is such an important book, because false teachers permeate the church today.  Consider that the whole church was only 16 years old and the churches Paul was writing to were younger than that.  But false teachings had already crept in.

The specific issues we face today are different than what the Galatians experienced.  We don’t debate the necessity of circumcision, for example.  But many people want to take the Gospel and add their own rules to it or to take things away from it.  As Paul points out in the strongest possible language, we must present the true Gospel at all times:

Reflect on what stood out to you in this reading and share your comments and questions if you like.

Galatians 1:8-9 But even if we or an angel from heaven should preach a gospel other than the one we preached to you, let him be eternally condemned! As we have already said, so now I say again: If anybody is preaching to you a gospel other than what you accepted, let him be eternally condemned!

Many people falsely believe that being a Christian is about following rules to make God like us.  Galatians emphasizes the great freedom we have as believers in Christ.  He has already paid for our sins, so we can be free to live joyful, abundant lives.  We are saved by grace, through faith in Jesus.  Adding or subtracting from that is a profoundly bad idea.

Galatians has important and great news for us.  Read and enjoy! 

3 Responses

  1. It is great to see blogging on Galatians. I have been preaching through it and am almost done with this book. I just wanted to encourage you to keep it up!

  2. Thanks, David. Great to have you here. I’ll enjoy going through your Galatians site. I should have just had you on as a guest blogger, except this is one of those rare times when I got a couple weeks ahead on my posts!

  3. I agree Apostle Paul was sent by Jesus as were the others. This fact is not in question. I am aware that Jesus died for my sins. However, you yourself demonstrate in the outline my concern. Have you not noticed that you have not once, in all your posting uttered one commandment of Jesus Christ. You have used everyone but, our LORD and savior’s Words.

    This is why I don’t go to a physical church. My soul is comforted by His Word, the Words that he spoke. Jesus said often, the Words I speak unto you they spirit and life. The Words I speak unto you make you clean. The Words I speak unto you shall make you free. Many confess to love Jesus, and rejoice that because they believe they will be saved. Are you that sure, that your right, would not it be prudent for discussions to take place, in this discussion, we have already agreed on issues, I am not sure that I am right on these things of the spirit, but is it good for to at least seek God and the Kingdom of Heaven. I have search for more then 10 years, your the first child of God who would even speak to me, concerning the Words spoken by Jesus Christ.

    Jesus said many are called, but few are chosen. I know I not alone?
    Looking for someone to talk to about my Father in Heaven, and Lord God Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

