Psalm 15

Greetings!  This is a very brief Psalm.  My understanding is that this isn’t what God requires to be fully reconciled to him – i.e., to enter Heaven – because none of us are truly blameless.  It is what God wants of those who come to worship him. 

Lending money “without usery” doesn’t mean one can never charge interest.  It means we shouldn’t take advantage of the poor.   God loves justice, so He hates it when people take offer bribes to pervert justice.   

Psalm 15

A psalm of David.

 1 LORD, who may dwell in your sanctuary?
       Who may live on your holy hill?

 2 He whose walk is blameless
       and who does what is righteous,
       who speaks the truth from his heart

 3 and has no slander on his tongue,
       who does his neighbor no wrong
       and casts no slur on his fellowman,

 4 who despises a vile man
       but honors those who fear the LORD,
       who keeps his oath
       even when it hurts,

 5 who lends his money without usury
       and does not accept a bribe against the innocent.
       He who does these things
       will never be shaken.

Share your reflections and questions if you like.

Next up: Proverbs 6 & 7, then Genesis.

2 Responses

  1. Peace be unto you Neil, To me Psalm 15, are reflections of my LORD and savior. Men have told me that I will always be a sinner, perhaps this is true. My spirit recognizes his voice, and draws me to him. Without faith in his words, I have nothing. My faith is strong not because of me but because I believe in the Words he spoke. I will never be shaken, However, with the help of other disciples of Jesus Christ, we may know his Words together.

  2. Neil, Thanks, you have opened my eyes. God has answered my prays and my faith has grown, because of His Word, His promise, ask and you shall receive, is spiritual. You are my answer

Leave a Reply

