Psalm 17

psalm-17-david-saul.jpg

Greetings!  Psalm 17 is a little like Psalm 16, except this one has a greater sense of urgency.  David was suffering severe persecution from King Saul, who was literally insanely jealous and was trying to kill David.  David pleads with God for justice. 

David had already been told he would become the king of Israel one day.  He had opportunities to kill King Saul yet he trusted in God’s timing even while his own life was in danger.  Now that’s faith.

Psalm 17

A prayer of David.

 1 Hear, O LORD, my righteous plea;
       listen to my cry.
       Give ear to my prayer—
       it does not rise from deceitful lips.

 2 May my vindication come from you;
       may your eyes see what is right.

David readily acknowledged his sinfulness in Psalm 32 and Psalm 51, so he wasn’t claiming to be perfect.  He close relationship with God and his repentance and receipt of forgiveness made him clean. 

 3 Though you probe my heart and examine me at night,
       though you test me, you will find nothing;
       I have resolved that my mouth will not sin.

 4 As for the deeds of men—
       by the word of your lips
       I have kept myself
       from the ways of the violent.

 5 My steps have held to your paths;
       my feet have not slipped.

 6 I call on you, O God, for you will answer me;
       give ear to me and hear my prayer.

 7 Show the wonder of your great love,
       you who save by your right hand
       those who take refuge in you from their foes.

 8 Keep me as the apple of your eye;
       hide me in the shadow of your wings

 9 from the wicked who assail me,
       from my mortal enemies who surround me.

 10 They close up their callous hearts,
       and their mouths speak with arrogance.

 11 They have tracked me down, they now surround me,
       with eyes alert, to throw me to the ground.

 12 They are like a lion hungry for prey,
       like a great lion crouching in cover.

 13 Rise up, O LORD, confront them, bring them down;
       rescue me from the wicked by your sword.

 14 O LORD, by your hand save me from such men,
       from men of this world whose reward is in this life.
       You still the hunger of those you cherish;
       their sons have plenty,
       and they store up wealth for their children.

 15 And I—in righteousness I will see your face;
       when I awake, I will be satisfied with seeing your likeness.

Countless people live for rewards in this life, and Christians get pulled into that line of thinking as well.  It is a constant battle, especially living in “God’s backyard” here in the U.S.   

The reference to being awake alludes to David’s belief in the afterlife.

Pray that we will trust in God’s justice and protection and that we will rightly order our lives with an eternal perspective. 

Leave a Reply

