Psalm 20

Greetings! 

My study notes tell me that this was a prayer before battle, perhaps before the events in 2 Samuel 10.  Again and again I see the difference in my life and others when we truly trust in God.  A friend is currently going through some spectacularly painful medical problems but he is making a difference everywhere he goes, sharing the Gospel with non-believers and encouraging believers. 

A psalm of David.

 1 May the LORD answer you when you are in distress;
       may the name of the God of Jacob protect you. 

2 May he send you help from the sanctuary
       and grant you support from Zion.

 3 May he remember all your sacrifices
       and accept your burnt offerings.
       Selah

 4 May he give you the desire of your heart
       and make all your plans succeed.

 5 We will shout for joy when you are victorious
       and will lift up our banners in the name of our God.
       May the LORD grant all your requests.

 6 Now I know that the LORD saves his anointed;
       he answers him from his holy heaven
       with the saving power of his right hand.

 7 Some trust in chariots and some in horses,
       but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.

 8 They are brought to their knees and fall,
       but we rise up and stand firm.

 9 O LORD, save the king!
       Answer us when we call!

What passages stood out to you, and why?

5 Responses

  1. “Some trust in chariots and some in horses,
    but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.”

    Just more conviction that I often put my trust in the wrong place.

  2. Neil what a wonderful prayer! Prior to visiting today, I have been feeling defeated and distresed. I echo what Totaltransformation pointed out.
    In closing, I look forward to actively participate with your ongoing Bilbe study blog.

    In Christ,
    Joseph

  3. Glad you both stopped by! Looking forward to your participation. I was just wondering the other day how many people read this. It gets a fair amount of “views” but it is hard to tell. I decided that I will keep it up until I finish the Bible, because it has been a good discipline for me to slow down a little and make some notes on it.

  4. ” 8 They are brought to their knees and fall,
    but we rise up and stand firm.”

    When all else is falling, the Lord is with us, and we are nto destroyed.

  5. sometimes we forget or take lightly that man does not live by bread alone.My first blogging. B Blessed

Leave a Reply

