Memorizing Bible verses

I came across a site that helps you memorize Bible verses and thought I would link to it while re-running this post.  Check it out!

bible2.jpgPsalm 119:9, 11 How can a young man keep his way pure? By living according to your word. I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.

Memorizing verses may sound like an endeavor just for young children, but it is valuable for us all. It helps us know God’s Word better, counter temptation, have ready answers, and more. How did Jesus respond to Satan’s temptations? With scripture.

I used to think I couldn’t memorize scriptures, but I finally realized I just wasn’t trying very hard. Here are some tips:

  • Try to memorize 1-2 verses per week.
  • Use them!
  • Meditate on the meaning of the verses (be sure to understand their context from the passages around them).
  • Find verses that have special meaning to you.
  • Be sure to refresh yourself now and then or you’ll forget them.
  • Try the Topical Memory System. It includes little cards with verses on them.

Methods – pick the one that works for you (or more than one)

  • Write them out several times
  • Record them and listen to them in your car or elsewhere
  • Read one every time you get in the car (or before bed, etc.)

What worked best for me was when I recorded them as individual .mp3 files then listened to them over and over when driving, mowing the lawn, jogging, etc. I would listen to one several times then repeat it. After doing this for a few days I had it memorized.

It is useful to know the chapter and verse, but it is much less important than knowing the scripture itself. The chapters and verses weren’t added until hundreds of years after the Bible was finished. Jesus, Paul and others frequently quoted the Old Testament without referring to which book it came from.

Here are files of my favorite verses in both Microsoft Word & Excel.

5 Responses

  1. thank you for this. it came at the right time, and i really needed this encouragement.

  2. I’m the author of MemLok and due to the wonderful review system the Lord gave, I’d encourage you to look over MemLok. 48 Topics of 12 verses. Either done on the computer or it prints out business cards and/or coloring pages for the visual clue included to help you recall the “first key words”.

    Incline your ear and hear the words of the wise, for it will be pleasant if you keep them within you that they may be ready on your lips. Proverbs 22:17, 18

    Thanks for considering coming by! Drake & Gina Mariani
    4 free gifts with the investment.

  3. I designed a new easy way to memorize Bible verses that has helped me and many others. It is basically stickable scripture that you put up in the places where you spend the most time. Just by looking at the verse so often you will find yourself memorizing it. Please check out my website:
    http://www.scripturestickies.com I am offering specials for Christmas. God bless you!

  4. There’s a cool new website which allows you to memorize bible verses (http://www.memverse.com) and it’s 100% online … no Windows 95 software to download :)

    I’ve started using it and what I most like is that it’s a long term solution. You can gradually build up a repertoire of verses that you know, it’s accessible from anywhere (I actually use it on my phone although it’s not formatted perfectly for such a small screen). The software keeps track of when you need to revisit a verse (seems to have a nice algorithm for doing that).

    I use it every morning now and they seem to keep improving the interface and functionality.

  5. I wrote an iPhone app to help me memorize individual proverbs. I posted it on the iTunes store a few days ago. Maybe someone else will find it helpful. It shows you the verses that you add to your memory list using blanks for words and then allows you to give yourself hints by filling in words or letters until you have the verse memorized.
    You can watch a youtube demo here:
    http://DailyProverb.tinypurplegrapes.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

