Psalm 62

ps62.jpgGreetings!

Psalm 62

For the director of music. For Jeduthun. A psalm of David.

1 My soul finds rest in God alone;

my salvation comes from him.

2 He alone is my rock and my salvation;

he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

Verses 1-2 were the theme of a Walk to Emmaus weekend that I worked a few years ago.  The weekend is a short course in Christianity to encourage and develop people to lead the church, but it is open to all believers. 

It is a great passage to memorize and recall.  We should make him our fortress and place of rest, and remember that salvation comes from him and not from anything that we do. 

3 How long will you assault a man?

Would all of you throw him down—

this leaning wall, this tottering fence?

4 They fully intend to topple him

from his lofty place; they take delight in lies.

With their mouths they bless,

but in their hearts they curse. Selah

5 Find rest, O my soul, in God alone;

my hope comes from him.

6 He alone is my rock and my salvation;

he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.

7 My salvation and my honor depend on God;

he is my mighty rock, my refuge.

8 Trust in him at all times, O people;

pour out your hearts to him,

for God is our refuge. Selah

Not only should we trust him, but we should pour out our hearts to him.  I never noticed that verse before.   We are not only invited but told to do that.

9 Lowborn men are but a breath,

the highborn are but a lie;

if weighed on a balance, they are nothing;

together they are only a breath.

10 Do not trust in extortion

or take pride in stolen goods;

though your riches increase,

do not set your heart on them.

There is nothing wrong with wealth, but much wrong in how we may pursue it or covet it.  We should not set our heart on it, but use it for God’s kingdom. 

11 One thing God has spoken,

two things have I heard:

that you, O God, are strong,

12 and that you, O Lord, are loving.

Surely you will reward each person

according to what he has done.

The Holy Bible : New International Version. 1996, c1984. Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

God is strong and loving.  Unlike the myth of the “mean” Old Testament God, He is unchanging throughout eternity and the Bible.

Leave a Reply

